Friendships

“Don’t you know that friendship with the world is hatred toward God? Anyone who chooses to be a friend of the world, becomes an enemy of God.”
James 4:4

“Evil companions corrupt good morals.”
1 Corinthians 15:33

Here is  a quote from Mabel Hale’s book ‘Beautiful Girlhood’:

“A person is made better or worse by his friends. If they are well chosen and faithful they build up and make strong the best that is in one; but if they are unwisely chosen they drag down and destroy all that is pure within. For a man will be like his friends. Show me the friends of a girl, those whom she most appreciates, and I will tell you what kind of girl she is though I never see her. Good girls have friends who are pure, noble, sincere, and upright. A girl cannot rise higher than the level of her friends. Either they will lift her up or she will descend to their level.”

I think this is so true because I’ve seen too often the results of “good, christian” young people who have become friends with those of the world.
Their attitude, dress and behavior slowly change to conform to those of their friends and those “good, christian” young people fall away from the faith. A girl will indeed become like her friends.
Thus, we must choose our friends very wisely and carefully.
One thing that has helped me is to make sure that my friends are the kind of people that I want to be like.
Also, if I am unsure about a certain person I ask my mother about them because I know that she is much wiser than I and has already gone through this ‘growing up’ stage that I’m in right now.
In this way I have avoided several friendships that I now know would not have been good.

May God bless you as you grow in Him and may He give you truly uplifting friends!

Blessings,
Moriah

2 thoughts on “Friendships

  1. That was a wonderful post.
    I too have avoided friendships that could have caused me harm.
    I am thankful too God to have such good friends like you and Anna and lot’s of others.
    God Bless You and Keep Writing!
    It really truly is encouraging.

    Hannah

Leave a Reply

