Accepting Advice

“Let the righteous smite me in kindness and reprove me; It is oil upon the head; Do not let my head refuse it,” Psalm 141:5a

This verse is interesting to me because a lot of times I have struggled with accepting advice and criticism from others. I think it’s a problem we all have, more or less.

One thing about this verse that struck me was that David was literally asking God to let the righteous reprove him. He wanted correction.

How many of you have asked God to let someone correct you if you do something wrong? I haven’t, but maybe I should because David goes on to say that “It is oil upon the head;”.

That’s right. It’s good for you. But advice doesn’t usually feel like oil on the head, it sometimes feels more like a headache.

Well, that’s where the next part comes in, “Do not let my head refuse it,”. This will only help you if you’re willing to change. Stubbornness and resentment make it hard to accept correction from the Lord. Be humble.

Reproof+Humility+ Motivation=Change for the better

True humility comes from submitting your will to God and only He can give you the motivation you need to get to where you need to be.

I’ve seen the results of this heart-changing process and it is truly beautiful.

Blessings,
Moriah

One thought on “Accepting Advice

Leave a Reply

