I Wish…

Everything has its wonders, even darkness and silence, and I learn, whatever state I may be in, therein to be content. ~Helen Keller

Sometimes we wish things were different than they are. We wish we could live somewhere else, have all the stuff other people have, do the things other people do. Sometimes we wish the people in our lives were nicer, more generous, less selfish, etc.

But, instead of focusing on how things could be better, we need to be thankful for where we are right now. Thankful for the people God has put in our lives (even if they’re here to test our patience). Thankful for the gifts we have been given to serve God with.  Helen Keller was able to be content and even joyful despite being both blind and deaf. She was thankful for what she did have instead of complaining about what she didn’t have.

This reminds me of what the apostle Paul said in Philippians 4:12-13 “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.”

We too can learn to be content with what our great God has given us and remember that all we have is all we need to serve Him.

Blessings,
Moriah

2 thoughts on “I Wish…

  1. This is so good! I have my moments when I start wishing for things to be different in my life and then I realize how selfish I am when I have so much more than so many people in this world. It’s so important to be content with what we have and where we are at in life because we can always find something to be
    thankful for and it’ll bring us joy to remember
    those things!

    • Thanks Anna! I know we all have those moments. It’s such a joy however to live in God’s will because wherever we are in life, whatever it is that were hoping for, we have assurance that God will bring about His wonderful plan.

Leave a Reply

