How to Keep it Up

There are some days when it’s easy to live and act like a Christian. But a lot of days it’s not. Some stressful situation comes up or you’re around unbelieving peers, or maybe you’re just alone and you get that feeling or hear that little voice that says “Just do what you feel like doing, you don’t have to be a saint all the time.” I’ve had moments like those and you probably have too. It feels so overwhelming. “How can I consistently live like a Christian in times like this?” you might ask yourself. Is there a way? I want to give you a few things that have helped me in my walk with Christ and some things I’ve learned recently that may help you to have a closer, deeper and more constant relationship with our Savior.

The first thing is to spend time in God’s word. I know you’ve heard this before but that’s because it really is one of the best ways to get to know God, His character and His will for us. Different people have different opinions on how to get the most out of the scriptures. Some ways that I’ve found helpful are scripture memorization and meditation. Every time I open my bible I like to pick a verse to memorize and meditate on that day. It’s good to pray about the verse and ask God to help you apply it today. This brings us to my next point, prayer.

Prayer is amazing. We can talk to God who is so powerful and holy and He actually cares about us little people who have never done anything to deserve His love. Praying to God is like talking to a good friend in a way because it helps you bond. People who spend a lot of time in private prayer time with God will have a closer relationship with Him. That’s just how it works. One thing I love about prayer is that you can talk to God whenever you need to. You don’t have to pray during a special “prayer time”, you can pray while you’re working, while you’re doing your school work or chores or before you go to bed at night. Literally anytime of any day God will listen to you and help you.

Another thing that I think really helps me is to talk to brothers and sisters in Christ. I really enjoy spending time with fellow believers and discussing different issues, scriptures or just talking about what’s been going on. Lately, I’ve had some good discussions with my mother and my older brother and other friends that have really helped me focus more on God and how He wants me to live and think. Find a friend, someone at church or a family member who you can talk to, encourage and be
encouraged by.

The last thing I want to talk about is worship. Worship, like prayer, is something you can do all the time. It may even include prayer sometimes. Go outdoors and enjoy God’s creation. Praise Him for the wonderful things He has made. You can worship God in your interaction with other people. Giving glory and praise to God is what worship is all about. Singing is another great way to worship God. Sing with your heart not just your mouth.

These are just a few ways that you can keep a good relationship with Christ and abide in Him (John 15:4-5). Being a Christian can be challenging but we have God’s help. He gives us everything we need to serve Him.

Blessings,
Moriah

One thought on “How to Keep it Up

Leave a Reply

