I Surrender All

 

“I Surrender All” is a song that has always made me stop and think. Have I surrendered all? Have I fully given myself to the One who gave all for me? I think surrender is something that we need to do everyday. It’s not a one time deal. We’ve got to wake up in the morning and tell ourselves “Today I will surrender everything to Jesus.”

But what is surrender all about? According to Dictionary.com, surrender means to “cease resistance to an enemy or opponent and submit to their authority”. But wait, Jesus isn’t our enemy or opponent. That’s right, not anymore He isn’t. When we lived in sin, Jesus was our enemy because He is the opposite of sin and evil. But like I said earlier, everyday we are growing closer to God (or should be) and as we become more like Him we cease resistance to Him. James 4:7 says, “Submit yourselves therefore to God.”

And then there’s that word “All”. Does that mean everything? Yes, it means “The whole of one’s possessions, energy, or interest” (dictionary.com). We need to devote all our energy and passion to Him, lock, stock and barrel. After all, how can God use us if we aren’t fully surrendered to Him?

Read the words of this old hymn “I Surrender All” and see if you can think of anything in your life that you haven’t yet surrendered to Jesus.

All to Jesus I surrender,
All to Him I freely give;
I will ever love and trust Him,
In His presence daily live.

All to Jesus I surrender,
Humbly at His feet I bow,
Worldly pleasures all forsaken;
Take me, Jesus, take me now.

All to Jesus I surrender,
Make me, Savior, wholly Thine;
Let me feel Thy Holy Spirit,
Truly know that Thou art mine.

All to Jesus I surrender,
Lord, I give myself to Thee;
Fill me with Thy love and power,
Let Thy blessing fall on me.

All to Jesus I surrender,
Now I feel the sacred flame.
Oh, the joy of full salvation!
Glory, glory to His name!

Refrain:
I surrender all, I surrender all.
All to Thee, my blessed Savior,
I surrender all.

–  Judson W. Van DeVenter (1896)

 

Blessings,
Moriah

5 thoughts on “I Surrender All

  1. “cease resistance to an enemy or opponent and submit to their authority”. — I’ve never consciously considered the meaning of surrender, but this definition was very eye opening. I’m so proud to see a young person this yielded to God. This is one of my favorite hymns and today I read it a lot slower than I ever have. thank you!

Leave a Reply

