The Challenge

Looking out my window on the wooded scene below, bright green buds are just popping out of the bushes and trees and the haze is starting to lift on the horizon.

Morning has always been my favorite, before the cares of life come and sweep me away.

There’s a sort of excitement in watching the night become the day, and a peace in knowing that the God who created this beauty around me is going to help me get through another 24 hours of life.

As I close the bible on my beside table and head downstairs to start breakfast I remember the conversation my mother and I had last night about sacrifice.

I hear her voice in my head reminding me that love is giving up what we want to serve someone else.

I admit that I didn’t want to get out of bed this morning. But after lying there, uncomfortably sensing the argument between my warm covers and the light coming in my window, I knew that I must.

Everyday is a challenge, a decision. Will I serve God or self? Will I do what I want, or do what He made me for?

Galatians 5:13 says “For you were called to freedom, brethren; only do not turn your freedom into an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.”

We embrace the liberty that we have in Christ but do we use it for Him?

I like the verse in 2 Corinthians 5:15 that says, “He died for all, so that they who live might no longer live for themselves, but for Him who died and rose again on their behalf.”

Live for Him!

Blessings,
Moriah

2 thoughts on “The Challenge

  1. Darla says:

    You go girl! Keep dying to yourself. Unless a seed dies it cannot produce fruit.

    John 12:24 “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit.

    Thank you for the encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

