Something from the Psalms

The Psalms that David wrote when he was running from Saul are often full of heartfelt complaints and fear. But what I’ve also seen is a great faith that reaches beyond David’s circumstances to the very person and character of God. There is a dependence on the faithfulness and mercy of God and a surreal awareness of His power and control in our lives. This is seen in Psalm 56:3-4 when David says “When I am afraid I put my trust in you, In God whose word I praise – In God I trust and am not afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?” This is the kind of faith that brought many of our bible heroes like Abraham, Moses, Daniel and Paul through seemingly impossible situations. It is this faith that will bring us through our trials into a closer relationship with the One who says in Isaiah 49 “I have written you on the palms of my hands.” He will never leave us or forsake us but will use us as vessels for His purpose if we put our entire trust in His capable hands.

Leave a Reply

