Worship

For our challenge this week I want to address this question: What does worship look like?

The woman at the well asked Jesus a similar question; where should we worship?
His response?

Don’t worship here or there. That’s not important. But worship in spirit and truth. That is what God desires.

I wondered for the longest time, “what is this ‘spirit and truth’ He is talking about?” This last week, I think I’ve accquired a deeper understanding of what this is and what it looks like. My cross country coach talks a lot about worship, and I want to share a few things that stem from some of his recent teaching on it.

So we have to ask the big question; What does that look like in normal, everyday life? Here are a couple of ideas…

It starts with your attitude; an attitude of worship that exemplifies itself in everything we say and do.

Radiate His joy – Honestly, I’m not a pro at this. My normal thinking face appears to some people as anxious or upset. But there are ways to radiate joy that have nothing to do with that bright yellow, smiley face we all automatically think of. Walking through the grocery store a few days ago, I was struck with a thought. You remember that “love your neighbor as yourself” passage, to which the lawyer replies “who is my neighbor?”. Well, contemplating that, I wondered what difference it would make if we literally love everyone around us as ourselves. And I mean “literally” in the literal sense of the word 😉 This takes humility and sensitivity, but I think the closer we get to that, the brighter our light will shine. If we can just love on the people around us, value them and brighten their day a little, that is one way to worship our Creator. If putting this in action doesn’t put a smile on your face, I think you may need help.

Live like it’s your last day – …or if it helps, live like it’s your family member, friend, co-worker’s last day. You pass someone on the street. It’s their last day. What do you do? How do you treat them differently? This is similar to what we were talking about earlier, but we’re going to take it a bit further. I know several people who have gone through some very tragic losses among their loved ones. Sickness, accidents and death can be very depressing. But I think they can also serve as a “reality check” for a lot of people. A common theme that I’ve heard and seen from grieving family members and friends is this; live every day like it’s your last. Picture it in your mind. What would you say or do differently?

Words & Meditation – My older brother, seeing that I was struggling with anxiety, once challenged me to think and speak 10% of what I normally do. That’s 90% less than I’m used to, and trust me, that’s really difficult. Out of the heart, the mouth speaks, and too often for me, that had been complaining, arguing and whatnot. I was challenged to think about the words I say and the thoughts that consume me and ask myself whether or not those were of true importance. Even King David prayed “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.” Let us pray that prayer every day.

The act of worshiping “in Spirit and in truth” may mean different things to different people. But I see it as a fullness of Christ that is lived out in a very real way and brings glory to God.

What stands between us and a life full of worship?
What is another way that you can worship God throughout your day?
Are there steps that you can take to cut out negativity in your thought life?

Blessings,

Moriah

2 thoughts on “Worship

  1. A very thought-provoking post, Moriah. I just got back from a road trip in the Southwest. I saw some of the most beautiful things and was hard not to worship the Creator of all of that beauty. Now, I’m back to my ordinary little town. The key to worship, I think, is realizing who God is. He made the Grand Canyon and my ordinary town and He has redeemed me. He is SO great and we truly can worship Him for eternity! 🙂

Leave a Reply

