The Grinch Who Stole Christmas

grinchIt’s wonderful and fun and smells like peppermint and cinnamon. You can’t help but be in a good mood! After all, it’s Christmas, right!?

This may seem pessimistic, but more than likely, there’s something hiding under that cheery holiday smile. Maybe it’s disappointment or pain. Spending Christmas without a loved one. It could be any number of things.

I want to talk today about one of the “Grinches” that can easily steal away our Christmas spirit and how you can keep him out of your life.

Expectations

Let’s be real. I have these crazy expectations around Christmas. It’s not about other people or gifts or even the weather (well, that’s not exactly true). But I have expectations for myself.

I’m going to spread joy and make people’s day. I’ll be on top of things. I’ll make it perfect.

Maybe you get that way too. And then there’s that sick feeling in your stomach when you miserably fail at perfection. I get it. And I hate it.

All those months of letting God speak to me and change me into someone who’s content and confident in Him. And then a few days into the season, BAM. I found myself crying in the car on the way home from a Christmas Eve service.

Why?

Because I’d failed myself. I had these stupid expectations that I could be someone who was good at everything. I could be the girl who seems invincible, who’s always smiling and who people love to be around.

Let me tell you a secret; I can’t be that person all the time. It’s exhausting.

But the fact that things don’t feel right, and there may be legitimate pain under the surface, doesn’t stop the power of God.

I love how the apostle Paul writes; “But He said to me  ‘My grace is sufficient for you. My power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly in my weakness, that the power of God may rest upon me.”

You see? When we have these expectations, we fail, they fail, the world fails. But aren’t we all a bunch of failures anyway? Without the grace of God, we’re out on the first strike.

But because of His grace, it doesn’t matter whether you have a Pinterest perfect Christmas, or you can’t get the tree to stand up right.

Because of His grace, we can show grace to others knowing that we’re all imperfect.

Because of His grace… Jesus.

Jesus. Everything about Christmas is about Him. Our lives; are they not about Him too? Our fears and failures; are they not accepted and forgiven by Him? Our hurt and heartache; can it not be healed by Him?

Jesus. Not only is He the “reason for the season”. He’s the key to our lock. He’s the answer to our questions. He’s the baby to our manger. He’s the star to our night. He’s the Christ to our Christmas.

I want to wish a very Merry Christmas to all my wonderful readers!

May the Lord bless you and your families this holiday season!

Love and blessings,

Moriah

||Feedback||
Have you had a “Grinch” come to steal your Christmas before? What expectations can you give up this year because of grace?

Leave a comment below with your thoughts!

5 thoughts on “The Grinch Who Stole Christmas

  1. Sarah Hurlin says:

    Thanks so much for the encouragement! I struggle with expectations as well, and reading your post right before we started celebrating on Christmas helped me. Merry Christmas!

  2. How many times I’ve found myself in the same spot as you. Actually, I found myself crying after a Christmas Eve service last night, too. This world is so very broken and I long for something better. I think that maybe I can fix it… After all, I am a Christian. And then I can’t and I feel like a failure and the brokenness is so real. The truth is, none of us can fix it. Only Christ can. I find myself longing for heaven more and more! Praise God for His salvation. Let’s celebrate it today! 🙂

    • Hannah, what a coincidence that both of us were overwhelmed by these things during that time. Your words are so true and I know that He will make all things right when He returns. Meanwhile we can have confidence that wherever the Spirit of God is alive in people’s hearts, the world is being changed for His glory. Keep on fighting, girl! It’s not over yet. ❤

Leave a Reply

