What happened to 2016??

lightstock_203208_medium_moriah_faithIt’s almost twelve midnight. It’s the night when this year becomes last year and I have to start putting 2017 on my papers. Wearing pajamas and listening to Spotify in my bedroom after a long day of work helps. But I can’t drown out the fireworks going off in the street or the loud banter of neighbors who are obviously a little drunk.

I always loved New Year’s. It was a chance to start over. To open a new page, set some goals, and be a better me. But this year it doesn’t feel like a celebration for me. Perhaps I’ve grown up a little, seen reality and decided I don’t like it. Maybe I’m not ready for the new year because I’m still trying to figure out this last year.

God has brought me through a lot of stuff in 2016. Some of it was really beautiful, some was kind of disappointing, and some things were straight up terrible. But God has stayed the same. I never really knew what that meant before; God staying the same. I always felt like since I was discovering God more, He was becoming something new to me. I realize now that it was only my eyes that changed. I’ve come to see God differently, more completely. And it’s changed my life.

2016 was a year of incredible growth for me, much like 2015. So I wanted to share just a few quick things that I’ve learned through my experiences this year.

– Skipping a season of sports taught me that I didn’t need to live up to other people’s expectations to be successful. Also, that it’s okay to cut off negative relationships.

– Working in customer service in the food industry taught me to be wise with who and what I invest energy and emotion in. Sometimes you have to shut down, stop caring, and fake your way through the rest of the day.

– Taking dual credit college classes taught me how to organize and pace myself with studying, and that higher education is both doable and worth doing.

– Being a team leader  in cross country taught me that love means reaching out to the least noticed and always leading by example.

– Turning 18 taught me that I shouldn’t have taken for granted being young and having my parents responsible for signing important papers, talking to people on the phone, and paying for everything.

So, that’s that. I love you guys and thanks for being part of such an amazing year! May God bless you all beyond what you can imagine or desire!

Happy 2017!!

Blessings,

Moriah

One thought on “What happened to 2016??

Leave a Reply

